fbpx
Home » Smithsonian Interactive Books and Activity Kits for Kids – Review + Giveaway!

Smithsonian Interactive Books and Activity Kits for Kids – Review + Giveaway!

Smithsonian Interactive Books and Activity Kits for Kids – Review + Giveaway!

 

smithsonian-natural-history-museum
The Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History in Washington, D.C.

The Smithsonian is one of the most amazing places to visit any day of the year!  We live less than an hour away from all of the great museums in the capital, and some of our family’s favorite places to visit are the Smithsonian museums!

This summer, I’m happy to partner with Silver Dolphin Books to bring you some of the newest Smithsonian interactive books and activity kits — perfect for dispelling your little ones’ summer boredom blues! 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 11.38.38 PM

The Smithsonian Sticker Creations line (ages 6+) – Smithsonian Sticker Creations: Dinosaurs and Smithsonian Sticker Creations: Under the Sea –  these innovative sticker books will engage your young readers and will offer unique, hands-on approach to learning. Each book presents fun facts about dinosaurs and sea creatures in an interactive, child-friendly manner. Backed up by the experts at the Smithsonian,  each book comes with more than 200 reusable stickers plus 5 oversized 3-D stickers, and a pull-out framed play scene, allowing children to create their own prehistoric dinosaur scene or ocean floor adventure.

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 11.41.01 PM

The Smithsonian Everything You Need to Know Fact Cards series, divided into Smithsonian Everything You Need to Know: Grades K-1 and Smithsonian Everything You Need to Know: Grades 2-3, is specially tailored for inquisitive minds of different ages. Each box includes 275 fact cards  that features categories covering Earth, early science, social studies, history exploration, health, plants and animals, geography and more! The facts are shown with beautiful color photographs, illustrations, and diagrams that will sure to capture young imaginations!

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 9.03.08 PM

Smithsonian Young Explorers: 50 States (Ages 6+) comes packed in an adorable, sturdy travel case with an illustrated poster and a giant 130-piece floor puzzle of the United States. The alphabetically arranged fact book details state birds, animals, flowers, famous residents, and other fun trivia.  My ten year old loves the poster so much he wants to frame it and hang it up on his bedroom wall!

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 9.04.06 PM

Smithsonian Discover: Earth (ages 8+),  this 64-page book was created in collaboration with the Smithsonian Institution and is filled with vibrant photographs, fascinating facts, and science in an easy to understand format that young readers will enjoy! They will learn about the amazing animals, vast oceans, and wild weather that make up the planet they call home. This comprehensive guide comes with 12 fact cards, a large two-sided poster, and a hands-on project to build a 3D paper globe.

All the books and activity kits above are available for purchase at leading book retailers, at Barnes & Noble, Indie Bound and online at Amazon.com

WIN IT!

Lucky you, loyal Hip Mama’s Place readers!  One of you will win a mega prize package from Silver Dolphin Books that includes all of the six (6) Smithsonian book titles/activity kits listed above — all valued at $108.00!
To enter this giveaway contest, just follow the Rafflecopter entry link below.  This giveaway contest is open to U.S. addresses only and ends on 07/14/15 at 11:59 PM, EST. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hip Mama’s Place Disclosure: “This is a sponsored post written by me for Silver Dolphin Books. I received the products necessary to facilitate this review. The prize package will be fulfilled by the sponsor. As always, all reviews and opinions are 100% my own”. 

Follow:
Jocelyn Brown
Jocelyn Brown

A former school teacher, Jocelyn Brown created Hip Mama’s Place in 2007. Her motto for this blog is: get inspired, create and share! Jocelyn loves sharing about food and recipes, crafts, DIY projects and her random travels with her family. She also loves all things social media, but her latest obsession is Instagram.

Find me on: Web

Share:

51 Comments

  1. November 2, 2015 / 3:06 pm

    wow these books activity sets look amazing my sons would go nuts over these and spend many happy hours using them

  2. trixx
    July 15, 2015 / 12:13 am

    My daughter would love the Smithsonian Young Explorers: 50 States, she enjoys trying to remember as many states as she can!

  3. Lisa L
    July 14, 2015 / 8:13 pm

    My son is a huge dinosaurs fan so he would *love* the Smithsonian Sticker Creations: Dinosaurs!

  4. Amber L.
    July 14, 2015 / 2:21 am

    Both my kids would love the Smithsonian Young Explorers: 50 States. They are all about puzzles! I have been working on teaching them about our country and this would be awesome for us.

  5. Dawn Monroe
    July 13, 2015 / 11:52 pm

    My oldest granddaughter enjoys learning and reading about marine animals.

  6. Kristina L
    July 12, 2015 / 6:11 pm

    I think my son would really like the dinosaur set because dinosaurs are super cool!

  7. Marissa M
    July 12, 2015 / 1:17 am

    The Under the Sea book would be perfect for my cousin!

  8. Tabathia
    July 11, 2015 / 1:51 am

    My daughter would enjoy under the sea especially since we just left the beach and have been enjoying shark week this week.

  9. Janice Dean
    July 10, 2015 / 12:54 am

    My 2 grandsons would love this! Thanks so much.

  10. Denise Taylor-Dennis
    July 10, 2015 / 12:52 am

    My son loves dinosaurs I am sure he would enjoy the dino book and also the Under the Sea Book.

  11. Lindsey Khatri
    July 9, 2015 / 8:32 pm

    I think the Everything you need to know packages are awesome! I have a daughter going into kindergarden and a son going into 2nd grade so these are the perfect levels for them!

  12. Joanne Willey
    July 9, 2015 / 1:54 pm

    WOW what a fantastic contest! This would be a whole summers worth of fun to receive all these great learning tools! My granddaughter and I would have so much fun learning about the sea, earth and more. This is my idea of fun learning, their young minds are like sponges trying to absorb as much as they can. I love it a lot of fun and learning at the same time. I absolutely love this contest!! If I had the money I would buy each and every item you have listed its such a huge amount of learning and fun for all. Thank you so much for the chance to win!!! Joanne

  13. Liz Blake
    July 8, 2015 / 1:29 pm

    They would LOVE all the books, but the Dinosaurs one would be a BIG hit! Thanks for this wonderful opportunity!

  14. Kelly D
    July 7, 2015 / 10:30 pm

    Both of my kids would enjoy the Smithsonian Discover: Earth book the most. I think they would most enjoy learning about the ocean.

  15. JESSICA
    July 7, 2015 / 9:53 pm

    looks like fun….. not just for the kids 🙂

  16. Sara G
    July 7, 2015 / 7:22 pm

    My son would love the Discover Earth book. He is so fascinated with planets!

  17. Melanie
    July 7, 2015 / 3:53 pm

    My daughter would love these books -especially the Young Explorers: 50 states. She likes to look at maps and see where family members live.

  18. ColleenMarie
    July 7, 2015 / 2:20 pm

    My oldest daughter would really enjoy these books!

  19. Hargow Wong
    July 7, 2015 / 7:05 am

    After visiting Sea World, my nephew and niece are interested in sea creatures. This is perfect for them.

  20. renee
    July 7, 2015 / 3:43 am

    My daughter would love the Discover Earth kit because she’d have fun building the globe model.

  21. Vanessa Madrigal
    July 6, 2015 / 7:57 pm

    My son will love Discover Earth! He’s all about nature and animals. 🙂

  22. Jennifer Rogers
    July 6, 2015 / 3:55 pm

    These are the types of books that just fascinate the kids because they are about the world around us and nature, they just LOVE anything nature related!

  23. July 6, 2015 / 3:41 pm

    I homeschool my son, and these would be perfect for him! He would enjoy them and have a lot of fun.

  24. Tina
    July 6, 2015 / 1:34 pm

    I love all the books. I would start with the Under the Sea book.

  25. Kim Avery
    July 6, 2015 / 2:26 am

    They all look wonderful! Right now my grandson is everything dinosaur!

  26. Carolsue
    July 6, 2015 / 2:18 am

    Dinosaurs! Need I say more? My kids LOVES dinosaurs.

  27. Angela W
    July 5, 2015 / 8:03 pm

    My kids would enjoy these books because of the photographs, facts, and science. It is in an easy to understand format for them to enjoy!

  28. Leigh Nichols
    July 5, 2015 / 7:43 pm

    My son would ADORE Under the Sea!!

  29. Jennifer Cervantes
    July 5, 2015 / 4:25 pm

    My daughter would love the under the sea one.

  30. Sharon Schoepe
    July 5, 2015 / 3:28 pm

    We are homeschoolers and these would be an excellent unit. Especially Discover Earth because my son would love to build the globe

  31. stacey grantham
    July 4, 2015 / 10:31 pm

    I would love to win “Everything You Need To Know” for grades 2-3 as a way to review and discuss different areas of learning with my 8 yr old son. This all looks awesome though!

  32. allyson tice
    July 4, 2015 / 7:25 pm

    My kids are fascinated by the night time sky so the earth bok would be fanastic for them! they are always asking questions on the mountains and the rivers they see!

  33. Francine Anchondo
    July 4, 2015 / 5:15 pm

    My son would love the dinosaur books

  34. Marnie G (Derrick Todd)
    July 3, 2015 / 7:56 pm

    What a GREAT package. This is AWESOME!!! My nephew would love the Smithsonian Sticker Creations: Dinosaurs. He is enamored with anything that has to do with Dinosaurs.

  35. Stacey b
    July 3, 2015 / 5:05 am

    My oldest son loves fact type science books so I know he’d love the fact books!

  36. Sadie B.
    July 3, 2015 / 2:30 am

    My daughter would love Smithsonian Discover: Earth. She has been learning about the planets.

  37. Jennifer Pierce
    July 2, 2015 / 11:31 pm

    My kiddos would love the sticker activity books..they love anything with stickers.

  38. Leigh Anne Borders
    July 2, 2015 / 4:00 am

    Discover Earth would be one of my kids favorites. They love rocks and things like that.

  39. Natalie S
    July 1, 2015 / 11:08 pm

    Love everything being learned here – my boys would love the Sticker Creations book especially since they are sea and dinosaur themed! Some really great summer learning to be done with these.

  40. janetfaye
    July 1, 2015 / 5:07 pm

    My grandson likes science and I am sure he would like to read mithsonian Discover: Earth .

  41. Cindy B
    July 1, 2015 / 2:10 pm

    I’ve just been moved to first grade so these books would be great for my new classroom!

  42. Deborah W.
    July 1, 2015 / 3:15 am

    My granddaughter would love all of them but she especially likes dinosaurs right now. 🙂

  43. Merry
    July 1, 2015 / 2:55 am

    My kids would like the Under the Sea Sticker book the best since we live near the ocean

  44. jeannine d
    June 30, 2015 / 11:41 pm

    my kids would love learning about new animals and places

  45. Maria C
    June 30, 2015 / 11:37 pm

    That would be under the sea. My kids loves the water & also the creatures under the sea. He will enjoy this book

  46. Jenn H
    June 30, 2015 / 5:37 pm

    we homeschool and these would be an awesome resource!!

  47. misty billman
    June 30, 2015 / 2:13 pm

    My oldest daughter would love this and learn do much with these books.I know for sure she would read the sea life one first (:

  48. June 30, 2015 / 1:58 pm

    My kids would love all of this, but I think Discover Earth would be the most fascinating for them! I’m sure we’d enjoy looking at it together and learning new things! 🙂

  49. June 30, 2015 / 1:55 pm

    Both of my children would absolutely love these. The dinosaur book and the under the see book would both definitely be a hit in our home right now.

  50. Jenn Scott
    June 30, 2015 / 1:26 pm

    The Everything You Need to Know packages are awesome!! I have a Kindergartener and a 3rd grader and they would think these are awesome. =)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

311 Shares
Share17
Tweet292
Pin2
Share