fbpx
Home » Magic Chef 27 lb. Portable Countertop Ice Maker Review + Giveaway!

Magic Chef 27 lb. Portable Countertop Ice Maker Review + Giveaway!

Magic Chef 27 lb. Portable Countertop Ice Maker Review + Giveaway!

I’ve been on the ‘healthy eating and exercising again’ streak for the past couple weeks now so I’ve been really minding what I eat – making sure I’m eating a good amount of fruits and veggies (less junk foods!), drinking lots of water throughout the day, doing my daily exercise and making my own healthy green smoothies, with the help of my undercover ice maker, of course. So far, it’s going great so I’ve been giving myself a pat on the back! 😉

One thing that I’m also happy to have in my kitchen these days (and which makes making my own green smoothies at home a lot easier) is this compact, sleek-looking Magic Chef 27 lb. Portable Countertop Ice Maker!

Magic Chef 27 lb. Portable Countertop Ice Maker

We received this portable ice maker to review and the first thing my husband and I noticed when we first saw it is that it’s really well-made and has a durable quality to it. I really like the stylish silver color too and the size is not overwhelming so that it can sit in any section of our kitchen counter with an outlet. We can move it easily if we decide we need an ice maker for camping too, which is super handy. Plus there’s no need to install it nor does it need any direct water line access for it to serve its purpose.

The whole set up and ice-making process are super easy too with the handy, easy to-read manual included in the box.

The Magic Chef 27 lb. Portable Countertop Ice Maker makes ice quickly (in as little as 7 minutes) whenever I need them to make my smoothies and there’s no complicated set up or wait time to make the ice. I can also choose whether I want a small or large size round ice. The electronic controls are easy to use and the light indicators tell you when the ice and water level are low and need to be replenished. I’m really thankful that we now have a reliable, portable ice maker to take to our family trips. This is also great to have at parties and gatherings at home when we need more ice for cold drinks and such. In other words, it’s a great supplement to have with our refrigerator built-in ice maker!

Features
  • Makes Ice in as Little as 7 Minutes
  • Choose Small or Large for Ice Size
  • Yields 9 Ice Cubes Per Cycle and 27 Lbs. Per Day
  • Easy-Touch Control Pad with Indicator Lights
  • Removable Ice Basket with Handy Ice Scooper
  • Convenient Viewing Window
  • Integrated Water Drain Cap

Be sure to read the user manual carefully before using the ice maker. It’s got everything you need to know on how to set it up, how to clean and use it properly as well as troubleshooting and safety tips. This video should give you a pretty good idea about all the great features the Magic Chef 27 lb Portable Ice Maker has to offer.

Overall, I highly recommend Magic Chef 27 lb Portable Ice Maker if you are looking to supplement your current refrigerator ice maker. And if you and your family go on camping, hiking and boating trips a lot, this portable ice maker is an ideal companion to have with you so you will never run out of ice again! You can get yours now at Best Buy for $99.88.

WIN IT!
Lucky you, my dearest readers! magic Chef wants to give away one of their 27-Lb. Portable Ice Maker to one lucky Hip Mama’s Place reader!
To enter this giveaway contest, just follow the Rafflecopter entry link below. This giveaway contest is open to U.S. and Canada addresses only and ends on 10/07/15 at 11:59 PM, EST. Good luck!
Personal tip: To increase your chances of winning, fulfill all the entry requirements AND tweet about this giveaway at least once a day for the duration of the contest.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hip Mama’s Place Disclosure: “This is a sponsored post written by me for Magic Chef. I received this ice maker appliance necessary to facilitate my review. Giveaway prize will be fulfilled by the sponsor. As always, all views and opinions are entirely my own”.

Follow:
Jocelyn Brown
Jocelyn Brown

A former school teacher, Jocelyn Brown created Hip Mama’s Place in 2007. Her motto for this blog is: get inspired, create and share! Jocelyn loves sharing about food and recipes, crafts, DIY projects and her random travels with her family. She also loves all things social media, but her latest obsession is Instagram.

Find me on: Web

96 Comments

  1. Amanda Sakovitz
    10/20/2015 / 6:22 pm

    So happy to win this giveaway!!! Thank you so much!! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to use this!

    • 10/20/2015 / 6:24 pm

      You’re welcome! Congrats! I’m sure you’ll make good use of it πŸ™‚

  2. 10/20/2015 / 5:32 pm

    The Rafflecopter widget is acting up and won’t show the winner to this giveaway. So I’m posting it here as a comment instead.

    The winner is Amanda S. with 22 entries and email submitted: poke___8@gmail.com

    Congrats, Amanda! Watch your email inbox for instructions on sending me your info for this prize.

  3. Heidi Pawluk
    10/09/2015 / 2:54 am

    β™₯ Love that it makes ice in minutes…LOVE to have one on hand for all the holdiay dinners…so NEED this..thanks for the chance

  4. carol clark
    10/09/2015 / 1:24 am

    i like how light weight it is and it makes ice in minutes

  5. Shaylin S.
    10/08/2015 / 11:54 pm

    I love how it makes ice in 5 minutes! We would use it outside in the summer when we have cookouts!

  6. Birdiebee
    10/08/2015 / 11:04 pm

    What I like best is that is makes Ice in as Little as 7 Minutes. I would use this daily as all I have is an apartment sized refrigerator where there is no room in the freezer for ice cube trays.

  7. Bailey Dexter
    10/08/2015 / 9:51 pm

    I really like that the Magic Chef 27 lb is portable Ice Maker ! Perfect for taking out to camp for the grandkids for snow cones!

  8. 10/08/2015 / 10:02 am

    I love the amount of ice it makes my wife and I clean houses for a living and never have enough ice for our cooler this would be terrific

  9. Kim Reid
    10/08/2015 / 3:56 am

    I like that it makes ice in only 7 minutes!! I would use it at home – I love ice in my water and soda!

  10. Amanda Whitley
    10/08/2015 / 12:16 am

    i like that it makes plenty of ice and will free of space in my freezer from not needing ice trays. i would love to use this for parties especially

  11. Judy Schechter
    10/07/2015 / 9:18 pm

    I love it’s portability and that you don’t have to connect it to a water line! I’d use this all the time, especially because it only takes 7 minutes to make some ice! Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  12. adriana
    10/07/2015 / 10:18 am

    I love how fast it makes ice and that its portable. I would use it everyday, I make ice coffee alot.

  13. Tara L
    10/07/2015 / 2:59 am

    I like how it takes only 7 mins to make ice and this would be good down in my uncles room because he is constantly taking ice out of the freezer.

  14. Laticha A
    10/07/2015 / 1:38 am

    i love that its small light and portable, i can take it anywhere

  15. Elizabeth Matthiesen
    10/06/2015 / 1:59 am

    I just love the fact that this is portable and it would sit on my kitchen island and also be lent out to my daughter and family plus lent out to my son & his family too for when these two families go camping. πŸ™‚

  16. LB
    10/06/2015 / 12:32 am

    I live in an apartment with an old fridge that has no automatic ice maker. It is such a pain to have to make ice cubes! I would use this every day.

  17. Jeanette Jackson
    10/05/2015 / 8:25 pm

    I love the convenience of having ice whenever I want it. We would use it all the time around here for our drinks.

  18. Debbie Welchert
    10/05/2015 / 1:39 pm

    I love that it makes 27 lbs of ice a day. I buy my ice and there are nine people here that keep using it and I never get any. It would be so nice to have ice whenever I wanted. I would keep it in my kitchen and use it for everyday use. It would be really nice having a glass of iced tea with ice in it.

  19. 10/05/2015 / 3:10 am

    I’d use it for any parties we’d have after we move into our new home. I plan on having people over as often as possible! =) I also love that it’s portable because then I could bring it to my mom’s for when she has her Christmas party or family dinners over holidays.

  20. Jennifer Cetoute
    10/04/2015 / 11:37 pm

    I like that it is small so it can go on the counter. It would be in my kitchen out ice maker broke and I love ice especially when pregnant, currently expecting twins!

  21. Laurie Nykaza
    10/04/2015 / 8:59 pm

    7 minutes to make ice sounds so amazing so we dont run out when we are making lots of drinks so cool love to have one.

  22. Piroska
    10/04/2015 / 8:31 pm

    I love that it fits on the countertop! I hate people going in and out of the freezer (when we have a get-together, which is often). Not good for the fridge, not good for the hydro bill.

  23. Julie Waldron
    10/04/2015 / 3:09 pm

    I like it because it makes ice so quickly that I can have fresh ice cubes in a matter of minutes.

  24. Andrea
    10/04/2015 / 2:24 pm

    I purchase 20 lbs bags of ice every 9 days! This looks so nice and I like that I can use it with bottled water πŸ™‚

    Awesome review!

  25. Heather Dawn
    10/04/2015 / 2:02 pm

    I like that it has a removable ice basket! I would use this for a few things, like regular everyday use and I would take it camping!

  26. ginette
    10/04/2015 / 1:29 pm

    I love that it makes ice in 7 minutes..wow no more filling up ice trays or going into the freezer to get an ice tray and it’s empty! I would use it often to make smoothies and it will be awesome when the family gets together for our bbq’s

  27. 10/04/2015 / 1:14 pm

    I love how small it is! I have a small nyc kitchen and run out of freezer space all the time–this would be perfect for parties!

  28. Lisa Romine
    10/04/2015 / 10:21 am

    I like the convenience of this product. I use far more ice than I can make in the tiny freezer that I have now. This would help me tremendously.

  29. Deborah Caudill
    10/04/2015 / 8:31 am

    If I win this fabulous icemaker, I would keep it out on the countertop at all times. My family goes through ice at an alarming rate and our icemaker just stopped working. My kids grew up with ice at the ready, so ice trays are beyond their comprehension, and find it hilarious that I grew up with ice trays. If they do get ice out of the tray, they only get enough for their purpose, then leave the tray out on the counter. Every now and then someone will actually dump all the ice into the container in the freezer, but they will either leave the empty tray out on the countertop or actually put it back in the freezer — empty of course. So, I would love to win this wonderful icemaker.

  30. Michele P
    10/04/2015 / 12:59 am

    I like the fact that I can use this with bottled or filtered water because I won’t use the ice maker in my fridge the ice tastes like plastic. Also it is the perfect countertop size and affordable. I would use this when camping, when I have parties at my house and also when I want to have lots of ice on hand.

  31. Angela Hendricks
    10/03/2015 / 11:30 pm

    I love this ice maker! Based off your review, I know it would be perfect for me! I have a little fridge and it does not have an ice maker. I have to use ice cube trays & the ice runs out so quickly. With this machine, that would never be a problem, plus it looks so easy to use.

  32. Amy C.
    10/03/2015 / 11:08 pm

    I could definitely use this. I love that it makes ice in seven minutes. It would come in handy when I host a get-together and we are running short on ice.

  33. Linda
    10/03/2015 / 8:59 pm

    I love this! My freezer ice machine hasn’t worked in forever, so this would be amazing to have!

  34. Laurie P
    10/03/2015 / 2:00 pm

    This would be so great to use at home as well as on our weekend visits with family. There’s never enough ice to go around….. Love the features, especially the quickness that it makes the ice, the size options, as well as the removable basket and scoop! Great design too!

  35. Wendy Jensen
    10/03/2015 / 1:53 pm

    I like it because it is compact and it would be great to use in our R.V.

  36. Amanda Morris
    10/03/2015 / 8:37 am

    I would use this at home as i currently have no way to make ice and htis would come in handy.

  37. shelly peterson
    10/03/2015 / 4:28 am

    I like how fast this makes ice and you can decide between 2 sizes of cubes, I love my drinks ice cold so I would use this all the time.

  38. Trisha Burgess
    10/03/2015 / 3:06 am

    I love that it has an affordable price tag! I would use this in my home kitchen!

  39. Cheryl
    10/02/2015 / 4:16 pm

    I love that it makes 2 different size cubes and if I won I would keep it on my kitchen counter so I could grab them in the morning for my smoothies πŸ™‚

  40. 10/02/2015 / 3:53 pm

    Oh I need this! My ice maker stopped working and this would be a perfect replacement! I love that it is compact, space is always an issue. I would use it daily in my kitchen and be forever thankful!

  41. Anita L
    10/02/2015 / 3:50 pm

    I love how quickly it can produce ice! That would be a wonderful thing around my home during summer months. We can never seem to have enough ice!

  42. Meg
    10/02/2015 / 1:52 am

    I don’t have a lot of room to keep ice cube trays in my freezer. This is the perfect solution. Love how light and portable it is!

  43. 10/01/2015 / 11:45 pm

    That would be terrific for hosting company, which is something we do quite often.

  44. Huguette E.
    10/01/2015 / 11:16 pm

    I love how fast it makes ice. It would be perfect for by the pool drinks in the summer and drinks at the cottage by the fire in the winter.

  45. Christy Peeples DuBois
    10/01/2015 / 12:24 am

    I love that this ice maker doesn’t have to be hooked up to a water supply and that it’s portable. It also makes ice rather quickly. My family would use this year round. Anytime we go to Jackson, which is about an hour away, we always take a cooler because I always have a glass in hand. In the summer we go through so much ice this would be a delight to have but also year round.

  46. Jeanna
    09/30/2015 / 3:20 pm

    I love that it makes Ice in as Little as 7 Minutes! Seems we are always in need of ice at our family dinners which is how I would use this the most!

  47. Leah
    09/30/2015 / 3:08 pm

    This would be great at get-togethers with my husband’s family. They are Italian and there’s a lot of them and we’ve run out of ice before! πŸ™‚

  48. 09/30/2015 / 2:48 pm

    I like that it’s small, light weight and easy to move around. I have a tiny kitchen but really need this machine.

    Besos, Sarah
    Journeys of The Zoo

  49. Karen Nadeau
    09/30/2015 / 2:29 pm

    I love the looks and style of this. I could make drinks for all my guests and with making ice in 7 minutes that could be a life saver for some of my guests.

  50. DJ
    09/30/2015 / 1:08 pm

    I love the fact that it’s portable. We use a lot of ice and filling up ice trays all the time gets tedious.

  51. katy emanuel
    09/30/2015 / 11:38 am

    I love how it makes ice so quickly. We would get loads of use with this on the back deck during summer months and would be great to take camping too.

  52. Connie H
    09/30/2015 / 4:03 am

    This would be great for when we go camping or out on the boat. The fact that it’s portable is a big plus.

  53. 09/30/2015 / 2:40 am

    I would love this old small fridge and small freezer never enough ice and i need my ice everone waits till frozen its like being in england with little ice

  54. Tabathia B
    09/30/2015 / 12:55 am

    I like that I can take it to family gatherings and that it’s portable

  55. Austin Baroudi
    09/29/2015 / 8:19 pm

    I love that it makes Ice in as Little as 7 Minutes!

  56. Lisa Neutel
    09/29/2015 / 12:53 am

    we need this for our camping trips ..we wouldnt have to buy ice

  57. Stephanie
    09/29/2015 / 12:49 am

    This would be perfect to take on vacations. There is never any ice already made in our rental cabins or condos.

  58. Stefanie Gladden
    09/28/2015 / 11:35 pm

    I’d love to use it at family get together’s! and I love how fast it works!

  59. Dawn Monzu
    09/28/2015 / 10:50 pm

    This would be a gift for my Mom! She has a great refrigerator with an icemaker, but it doesn’t work! This would be amazing! My sister is always using the ice because she has health/physical problems, and uses ice packs. I’m telling you, this would change their lives! Awesome machine. I didn’t even know they had anything like this! Thank you!

  60. Rebecca
    09/28/2015 / 10:15 pm

    I would love to use this for parties and events. It looks so convenient.

  61. Jennifer Rote
    09/28/2015 / 2:50 pm

    I like that this makes ice in as Little as 7 Minutes. Would be the perfect addition to our party supplies for the back deck.

  62. Christine
    09/28/2015 / 10:47 am

    I would use it for get together with friends and family.
    Thanks for the chance!

  63. Margot C
    09/28/2015 / 9:39 am

    I love that it makes ice fast. I would have it upstairs in my own study!

  64. M.Clark
    09/28/2015 / 5:15 am

    I love that the Magic Chef 27 lb. Portable Countertop Ice Maker makes ice in as little as 7 minutes. I would use it daily to make ice for my iced drinks: water, juice, or tea.

  65. Jessica M Walker
    09/28/2015 / 1:27 am

    This is amazing, no more warm drinks. Ice in 7 min, unbelievable. Would love to have one. Thanks for the chance

  66. lori b
    09/27/2015 / 3:58 am

    this would be fantastic while camping

  67. Robyn Bellefleur
    09/26/2015 / 11:38 pm

    I love the size, not too big and can fit on my counter top. I would probably use it most out on my back deck in the summer.

  68. Tammy Horn
    09/26/2015 / 8:00 pm

    I love this. The fact that it is portable and light weight, it would be perfect in the RV while traveling.

  69. Kambrea
    09/26/2015 / 1:29 pm

    I love that it is portable. We chose not to get an ice maker in our new fridge to have more freezer space. This would be great to have.

  70. Janice Cooper
    09/26/2015 / 2:50 am

    I love how it makes ice in 7 minutes and I would use this to replace our broken ice maker. This would be perfect!!!

  71. 09/26/2015 / 1:56 am

    I like the fact it doesn’t take a lot of space, makes ice cream fast within seven minutes and you can choose the amount you want small or large. I would use it for my family of four.

  72. Nataile Brown
    09/26/2015 / 12:26 am

    I live alone so really don’t use too much ice. Although, my son and daughter in-law would love this ice maker. It’d be great for get-togethers and making smoothies. Thank-you for this generous chance. πŸ™‚

  73. Lisa bolduc
    09/25/2015 / 11:50 pm

    I love how you can choose between small ice sizes and large ones. I think this would be a great addition to our house as it would encourage us to drink more water as it would be always cold from the ice

  74. 09/25/2015 / 10:53 pm

    We seems to be the home all our family gathers at and this would be perfect for entertaining!

  75. Amy Heffernan
    09/25/2015 / 10:00 pm

    I love how it makes Ice in as Little as 7 Minutes!!! This would be great for my kiddies. Thanks!

  76. andrea amy
    09/25/2015 / 9:40 pm

    I have one special needs child who loves ice. Its his favourite after school snack and he requires ice in all his drinks. This would be great to make sure I always have ice handy for him!

  77. Laura J
    09/25/2015 / 9:05 pm

    I really love that it can make ice in under 7 minutes! We would get so much use out of this, our ice machine broke years ago in our freezer…so we really do not use ice. I miss it so much and love it in iced tea or iced coffee! I would love to have this! Such a nice counter top design!

  78. 09/25/2015 / 2:28 pm

    I love that it makes up to 27 pounds of ice in a day. We bought a small camper earlier this year and bought a lot of ice to keep our food cold over the summer. I think this portable ice maker would save us a lot of money buying ice for camping trips.

  79. Dawn Monroe
    09/25/2015 / 1:04 am

    We don’t have an ice maker and we use a lot of ice. I would use it at home and for camping trips.

  80. DeAnna Keller
    09/24/2015 / 11:52 pm

    We go through ice like crazy, and we don’t have a refrigerator that comes with a built in ice machine so this would be perfect for us! Love the fact that you can have ice in as little as 7 minutes! How cool is that?!

  81. Maria B
    09/24/2015 / 11:25 pm

    In my household we are constantly running out of ice so this portable ice maker can surely come in hand. We love make smoothies so definitely need lots of ice.

  82. kelly tupick
    09/24/2015 / 10:28 pm

    I like that it makes ice in as little as 7 minutes. I’ve never had an automatic ice maker before. I’ve always wanted one and now that my daughter is a teen, she is always drinking lots of water and i am forever making ice in the ice cube trays. This would be perfect for our daily use and I know her and her friends would love this and it would save me so much time.

  83. Thomas Murphy
    09/24/2015 / 6:25 pm

    I like that it Makes Ice in as Little as 7 Minutes. I would use it in my back yard during the summer.

  84. Holly Thomas
    09/24/2015 / 5:42 pm

    I have a small freezer and no room for ice cubes, this would be perfect for my countertop.

  85. Amanda Sakovitz
    09/24/2015 / 5:17 pm

    I love how quickly it makes ice. I would use this daily because I drink a ton of ice water.

  86. tanyab79
    09/24/2015 / 5:02 pm

    Love the fact that you can have ice cream in as little as 7 minutes. That is nice and quick. Would love to own this.

  87. Doreen Lamoureux
    09/24/2015 / 3:41 pm

    I love that it β€’Makes Ice in as Little as 7 Minutes. Really? That is incredible. We would use it while road tripping or camping.

  88. David
    09/24/2015 / 3:37 pm

    Our freezer has an automatic ice maker with a tray, and it takes up valuable freezer space. This would enable me to remove that bucket so I can take advantage of the space with food that I find on sale.

  89. Amanda B.
    09/24/2015 / 3:21 pm

    I’d use it for parties at my house. You always seem to need more ice!

  90. Erin Ellis
    09/24/2015 / 2:42 pm

    My favorite feature is that it makes ice so quickly! Perfect for our hot climate – It’s also super stylish!

  91. Deborah W.
    09/24/2015 / 1:44 pm

    We could really use this icemaker. We use so much ice. I paid to have my icemaker in the refrigerator replaced about four years ago and it stopped working a little over a year later. I am not paying for another one. We use ice cube trays and have to refill them a couple times a day. This would be SO nice.

  92. 09/24/2015 / 1:31 pm

    I like that it can make ice in as little as 7 minutes. I’d use it for get-togethers πŸ™‚

  93. 09/24/2015 / 10:01 am

    In my kitchen, counter top space is at a premium, so this ice maker would be ideal!

  94. Fiona N
    09/24/2015 / 9:17 am

    I really love its size and color! It looks so beautiful and convenient for every kitchens. I would use it
    whenever we have party in the backyard!
    Thank You for the great review and giveaway!

  95. Julie Lundstrom
    09/24/2015 / 8:42 am

    I like how light it is and that it doesn’t take up much room. I would use it for holiday and football parties for the drinks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

730 Shares
Share20
Tweet709
Pin1
Share